Damian Stamer

Private Property, 2013  

This piece of Stamer’s was particularly striking to me because of the distortions. The marred sections of the work are prominent and draw the eye without taking away from the scene. The rectangle in the work also serves as an unorthodox focal point. I like that the first place my eye went was to a more simplistic space. I think this interruption not only accentuates places where distortion is present, but allows the viewer to have a break and something to grasp onto. Additionally, I like that the water marks are the brightest sections of the piece. Instead of destruction and imperfection, they remind me of rain or a cleanse. The places they have hit are pure and honestly remind me of taking a searing hot shower when I’m stressed. Everything else melts away and there is a fresh start underneath.

Leave a Reply

