South Lowell 21

I grew up around hillsborough, nc. I have friends and family there, went to high school near by, worked on a farm in town and spent many afternoons at a local dairy farm/ ice cream parlor. I can somehow feel all of the memories above just by glancing at South Lowell 21… I also feel like I am on the outside of a frosted window looking in on those past memories. Even before I read that Damian Stamer lived in/spent time in hillsborough and durham nc, I felt connected to this painting. Something, that I can’t put my finger on- with the black and white barn and colorful green background is what makes me feel so close and yet so far away from this scene.

 

Leave a Reply

