Hudson River School

e33a1286fef5e71302e7d1df89ba2885

Thomas Moran, Sunset in Mid Ocean, American Hudson River School Painter.

 

When I was little my favorite book was called The Wanderer. The book was the diary of a girl who traveled across the ocean with a few of her family members. This painting reminds me of her diary entries describing the ocean. It is vast and deep and dark, but there is an innate softness to it…a comforting warmth. When looking at this painting, I imagine myself on a sailboat looking into the horizon. The sunset (sunrise?) is welcoming and serene, but the black ocean is isolating and secretive. The clouds almost look like smoke billowing from the sun as its orange light consumes the sky. Despite the loneliness I identify in the painting, I also see vast opportunity. There is vast openness full of new ocean to explore.

Leave a Reply

