Timothy O’Sullivan

067000B1V1.jpg

Lake Marion in the East Humboldt Mountains, Nevada

As a photography enthusiast, I had learned about Timothy O’Sullivan’s work in classes that I have taken in the past. He worked under two very popular photographers at the time, and was always kind of under their limelight. It wasn’t until years afterwards that I truly feel like O’Sullivan got the credit he deserved. When I look at this photo, I admire O’Sullivan for his commitment. A lot of people don’t think about it, but in his time, camera equipment was comprised of multiple parts and spread over many bags and other types of equipment, which meant it was heavy and strenuous lugging equipment everywhere.. It wasn’t as easy as carrying a DSLR around like it is today

I love this picture because it reminds me of something that I would take myself, while hiking off the parkway.. I love how the mountains peep out from just beyond the trees.. Adding a feeling that there’s, figuratively, so much more on the other side of the hill.

Leave a Reply

