Bas Jan Ader- Fall 1, Los Angeles (1970)

Bas-Jan-Ader-Fall-1-Los-Angeles-1970

I like this set of his work. And really anything of his that stops action mid-motion. That part of the work seems like something that couldn’t happen. Just like the other part, self-inflicted injury, they both are something that either shouldn’t or couldn’t happen. Yet he forced the situation and captured it. I’m not really sure why I those elements except for the obvious relation to myself. I like sketchy situations, usually for the moment in which it occurs than to plan or reflect on it. I also tend to be a little sarcastic and “anti-authority” which this piece doesn’t necessarily represent. However, the whole idea for me comes from that doing something you shouldn’t do feeling.

Leave a Reply

