Severn Eaton

I like this painting because, at first glance, it reminds me of a scene from the Wizard of Oz where the characters are in a field of poppies. But what really captured my attention is the man, who looks like he might be in the military or something. I think it’s interesting that Eaton plays around so much with contrasting ideas. It’s striking to see something that makes me think of warfare alongside a field of flowers. At the same time, I’m not really sure what Eaton is trying to convey; I can’t tell if there is a story to this painting or if it’s just a soldier in a poppy field.

Leave a Reply

