Richard Long

richard long

This piece reminds me of the dirt drawings we did in class. I like that it looks like it was done with his hands. It seems like maybe he had the edges of the rectangle taped to give the straight edge appearance. As much as I like certain aspects of this piece, however, I don’t think it really comes through in photograph and kind of just looks like wallpaper. I wish the piece was not so uniform. I love the idea of dirt as a material, but I think the subject matter still needs to be interesting. This piece, like a lot of the pieces I looked at by Long sits somewhere between art and just showcasing nature for me. I know art means a lot of different things to different people, and we can define it many ways, but it is sort of frustrating to see something so simple and accept it as art.

Leave a Reply

