Andrea Zittel

2011-Regen-Projects-II-AZ-22.jpg

2011-Regen-Projects-II-AZ-15.jpg

Lay Of My Land, 2011

I chose this piece because it was one of the few amongst several works of hers focusing on fabrics and patterns that actually involved the environment, and I enjoy this one as an artistic representation of the land. I enjoy the aesthetic of a solid color (especially black or white) being used to make a solid landscape or a background on which to form the heart of a piece. I like this piece in particular for its wide representational expanse of land, it’s detail of rockslides and little houses, and its resemblance to stop-motion claymation films. It has what my mind classifies as “a dollhouse twilight zone” feel, and I love it. It’s cute, visually interesting, and eerie at the same time.

Leave a Reply

